JRJ - Sacred Music
James R. Jennings

Sacred Choral selections by J. S. Bach (1685-1750)

Cantata 131 "Aus der Tiefe" (BWV 131)

Arranged* by J. R. Jennings

This cantata is divided into 6 sections here for the sake of convenience in file management. This should not be construed to indicate that either the divisions or the titles assigned to them come from Bach. In performance, numbers 1-3 should be played continuously, without a break (as a single movement). The other divisions come to reasonable conclusions, but it should not necessarily be assumed that there should be a gap between them during performance. I have written out a keyboard realization of the basso continuo* part in modern musical notation. and have written a a modern English translation*, which is placed underneath the original German text in the scores. Software to read NWC scores can be downloaded free of charge.

Cantata 131: files available for download
Section number/nameNWC
1 - "Sinfonia" yes yes yes none none
2 - "Aus der Tiefe" yes yes yes yes yes
3 - "So du willst, Herr, suende zurechnen" yes yes yes yes yes
4 - "Ich harre des Herrn" yes yes yes yes yes
5 - "Meine Seele wartet auf den Herrn" yes yes yes yes yes
6 - "Israel, hoffe auf den Herrn" yes yes pp. 1-16
pp. 17-32
yes yes

*Arrangement copyright © 2009 by James R. Jennings.
*Continuo realization copyright © 2009 by James R. Jennings.
**English translation copyright © 2009 by James R. Jennings.

Go to Home page.
Contact Jim Jennings.

All pages on this website copyright© James R. Jennings.
Permission is granted for all visitors to download one copy of anything posted on this site for private study or personal enjoyment.
Any commercial use is specifically forbidden without express written permission.


000webhost logo